Entries by admin2

Thoughts from the Executive Director: Looking forward, reflecting back

The school year has begun. Our debaters are about to launch into their preparations with regular practices and volumes of reading material. It’s an exciting time. New debaters will nervously stand up in front of the room to give their first tentative speeches. Debaters with a little more experience will run drills on cross-examination and […]

Illinois first: Whitney Young wins IHSA Varsity State Championship

Whitney Young seniors Hanna Nasser and Marcel Roman made history in March by becoming the first Chicago Public School to win the Illinois High School Association Varsity State Championship in policy debate, an event dating back to 1941. Hosted by Illinois Wesleyan University in Bloomington, the event featured the top 74 students from 12 schools […]

Lane debater wins national top speaker award

Owen Jones of Lane Tech College Prep took home the first place speaker award at the National Urban Debate Championships in Washington, D.C. on April 18, besting 75 students from 19 urban debate leagues around the country. Jones and his partner, Joey Peculis from Lane, along with the team of Hanna Nasser and Sydney Doe […]

2012 CDL Season Awards presented

The 2011/12 CDL Season Awards were presented at the Chicago Debate Championship. Aubrey Monks, coach at Austin High School, one of our ‘AA’ Conference schools, won the 2012 Golden Gavel Award, given to the CDL debate coach of the year, for her deep commitment and her impact in elevating not only the team, but also […]

The 2012 Annual Allstate CPS Chicago Debate Championship concludes15th season of the Chicago Debate League

At the end of three days of competition, Northside College Prep won its first-ever Varsity Chicago Debate Championship. Northside seniors Mitchell Caminer and Tom Trieu defeated the team of senior Sydney Doe and junior John Vitzileos from Whitney Young Magnet High School. In the Junior Varsity division, guest school Evanston Township won the championship, when […]

Mark your calendars for Make Room for Debate

On June 19, 2012, the Chicago Debate Commission will honor Tom Wilson, CEO of Allstate Corporation, with its inaugural Champion of Debate award at Make Room for Debate, a luncheon benefiting the Chicago Debate Commission.  Richard Godfrey (Partner, Kirkland & Ellis LLP) is generously serving as luncheon chair, along with Honorary Co-Chairs Jean-Claude Brizard (CEO, […]

Alumni profiles: defense attorney Robert Lampley

I joined the debate team at Corliss High School (’04) at the beginning of my sophomore year. In my naiveté, I just wanted to be right! I soon learned that being right is not the point in debate. Instead, the point is to present an argument that is well supported, researched and articulated. As a […]