Season-Long Awards for 2009-10

Each year, the CDL recognizes the substantial efforts of coaches, administrators, students and squads through a series of awards designed to spotlight their season-long accomplishments.  There are always many deserving candidates for these awards, which makes their presentation more challenging and their receipt more valuable.  This year, the awards were handed out at the Chicago Debate Championship Reception Awards Ceremony.

Muriel Dorsey of Prosser Career Academy was awarded the 2010 Richard M. Daley Leadership Award, given for the most distinguished student leadership on a debate squad and within a conference.  Muriel has been an exceptional leader at Prosser for the past four years, and is said to inspire her “A” Conference peers through the example of her complete dedication to debate.

Muriel reflected on her award: “Receiving the Richard M. Daley Leadership Award took me by great surprise.  It’s a great honor to receive such an award because it made me realize that my leadership efforts had made such a great impact on my peers as well as others in the debate league.”

Cadmiel Avendano of Little Village – Infinity High School was awarded the 2010 Voltaire Sterling Debater of the Year, given for sustained improvement, effort, success, and achievement.  In a short time, Cadmiel has propelled Little Village Debate to become one of the city’s most accomplished debate programs, at or near the top of the citywide Medal Count all year.

The 2010 Betty Willhoite Award, given to the squad with the highest participation level for the full 2009-10 season, was awarded to Lane Tech High School.  Principal Dr. Antoinette LoBosco was present to accept her school’s award, with Head Coach Edwina Gholston and Coach Valerie House.

The 2010 Allstate “Expanding Opportunities” Initiative Highest Performing School was Marshall High School, with Urban Prep Academy and Juarez Community Academy the two runners-up.  This new Allstate Initiative targets additional resources and support to the city’s most poverty-impacted schools, encompassing half the debate programs in the CDL.

Dr. Joyce Kenner of Whitney Young High School was honored as the 2010 Chicago Debate League Principal of the Year.  Dr. Kenner has been a stalwart supporter of Whitney Young debate for thirteen years and exemplifies what strong administrative leadership can do for a school’s debate program.

Dennis Kass of Little Village – Infinity High School won the 2010 Golden Gavel prize for Outstanding Achievement as a Debate Educator and Coach.

All of these award recipients have demonstrated excellence throughout the the 2009-10 Chicago Debate League season.